top of page
Writing a Memo

CNA Certification – WOCC(C)

Wound, Ostomy and Continence Certified (C)anada

A Nurse Specialized in Wound, Ostomy and Continence (NSWOC) is a registered nurse with advanced and specialized knowledge and clinical skills in wound, ostomy and continence care who has graduated from a World Council of Enterostomal Therapists (WCET) recognized education program.


Recognized as Nurses who have specialized training in wound, ostomy and continence by the Canadian Nurses Association (CNA), Nurses Specialized in Wound, Ostomy and Continence are the ONLY nursing specialty with CNA certification in wound, ostomy and continence care (WOCC(C)).


From acute care hospitals, outpatient clinics, community, long term care and in independent practice, an NSWOC provides specialized holistic assessment and management as an interprofessional team member to meet the needs of individuals/families with ostomies, acute and chronic wounds and urinary and fecal continence problems.

What is certification?

CNA certification is a nationally recognized nursing specialty credential for nurses. Once certified, you can proudly use the credentials associated with your specialty  ( WOCC(C) ) after your name.

Care to Be the Best

The first certification exam, offered in 1991, was in neuroscience nursing. Today, more than 15,000 nurses are CNA certified (see breakdown by specialty and province/territory).

Certified nurses are…

  • Recognized nationally for their practice excellence and commitment to lifelong learning

  • Valued by employers, because their certification demonstrates specialized knowledge and brings many benefits to organizations

  • Viewed as having enhanced professional credibility

To become certified, you must pass a rigorous computer-based exam. There are two exam windows annually (important dates for 2022 coming soon). Your exam preparation will be unique, depending on what you already know in your specialty. We offer many exam preparation resources, as do many nursing specialty associations.

If you become certified, your credential will be valid for a five-year term. At the end of five years, you can renew by submitting a record of continuous learning hours or rewriting the exam.

"Why I Became Certified"

Kimberly LeBlanc, PhD, RN, NSWOC, WOCC (C), FCAN

Academic Chair of the Wound, Ostomy and Continence Institute

bottom of page